Detach Volume

You can detach a volume that is attached to an active instance, suspended instance, or stopped instance. Make sure that the guest operating system is not making active changes to the volume before you detach the volume.

You must be a self-service user or an administrator to perform this operation.

To detach a volume to an instance, follow the steps given below.

  1. Log in to Clarity.
  2. Click Volumes and Snapshots in the left panel.
  3. Select the checkbox for the volume to detach from the list of volumes. Detach Volume
  4. Click Detach Volume on the toolbar seen above the list of volumes.
  5. Click Detach Volume.

The volume is detached from the instance. Once a volume is detached from an instance, it becomes available to be attached to another instance.