Router Management

Create Router

Neutron routers enable routing of traffic between two or more Neutron networks. A router is capable of routing traffic between external, provider or tenant Neutron networks. A router which serves to connect one or more distinct networks is sometimes referred to as a gateway.

You must be a self-service user or an administrator to perform this operation.

To create a Neutron router, follow the steps given below.

  1. Log in to Clarity.
  2. Click Networks in the left panel.
  3. Click the Routers tab.
  4. Click Create New Router seen on the top right corner. If no routers have been created, click New Router. Create Router
  5. Enter the Router name.
  6. Optionally, select the external network that the router should connect to from the Set External Network drop-down.
  7. Click Create Router.

The Neutron router is created. The router starts automatically once the router is created successfully.

Edit Router

You can edit the router details at any time. When you edit router details, you can change the name as well as the external network that the router should connect to.

You must be a self-service user or an administrator to perform this operation.

To edit router, follow the steps given below.

  1. Log in to Clarity.
  2. Click Networks in the left panel.
  3. Click the Routers tab.
  4. Select the router that you want to edit. Edit Router
  5. Click Edit Router on the toolbar seen above the list of routers.
  6. Edit the router details as required.
  7. Click Update Router.

The router is saved with the changes made during the edit.

Delete Router

You can delete a Neutron router that you no longer require for use.

You must be a self-service user or an administrator to perform this operation.

To delete a router, follow the steps given below.

  1. Log in to Clarity.
  2. Click Networks in the left panel.
  3. Click the Routers tab.
  4. Select the router that you want to delete. Delete Router
  5. Click the Delete Router on the toolbar seen above the list of routers.
  6. Click Delete Router on the message if you are sure that you want to delete the router.

The selected router is deleted and the router is no longer available for use.